Brian Wilson (Beach Boys) Concert Review

I had the privilege to see one of the last living musical legends perform live at the Minnesota Zoo on July 28 2013 with my father.  It was my father who played beach boys songs throughout our house during my formative years, cementing the sound in my head and introducing me to some of the best music ever created. 

 

Now, back to the concert review, it was a treat to get to see a sound check.  There is not a bad seat in the house, being my first time at the zoo to see a show, it exceeded my expectations on this unseasonably cool, fall like evening in Apple Valley, MN. 

Seeing Brian Wilson in person was surreal.  Even though his vocal chords are not the same as they were during Pet Sounds, the ability and creativity will never fade and it showed through multiple times throughout the concert.  Set list highlights included Little Bird, Wouldn’t it Be Nice, Warmth of the Sun and Do It again. 

One of the best pure musical shows I have ever been to.

Leave a Reply

